Facebook users warning others about cloned profiles

0

Some Facebook users are warning others on social media after their accounts were cloned.

A cloned account is different than an account that is hacked. A Facebook clone is an account created by a spammer to look similar to another, even sending images and requests to friends of the real account.

The messages look something like this, according to WSYR:

“Hi … I actually got another friend request from you yesterday … which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears … then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too … I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!”

If the friend accepts the request, the spammer messages them asking for money or sends a link to identity theft malware.

Facebook officials told WSYR they do not see a spike in cloned accounts and the warning messages could be going around for awareness.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.